Raby
When
Selected dates from August - March
Where
High Force
A magical evening of stargazing and 3 course meal

Tickets – £77.50 | Raby Member – £65.00

Discover the magnificence of the night sky with an exciting stargazing experience at the breathtaking High Force Waterfall in County Durham.

The evening begins with a delicious 3 course meal at the High Force Hotel. After that, an insightful presentation and a walk down to the waterfall, where the beautiful scenery will be illuminated for you to take photographs with your phone.  Gaze up at the stars using the astronomy binoculars provided, admire the web of constellations in the sky and develop a greater understanding of the sky at night.

This event will be run and presented by Graham Darke. Graham’s interest in the night sky was sparked as a child by his grandfather who was himself a self-taught amateur astronomer. Graham is a well known figure in astronomical circles in the North East of England and has over 30 years of experience delivering outreach events to people of all ages. He is the honorary president of Sunderland Astronomical Society.

Treat someone with a passion for the stars to an evening of discovery and learning, or enjoy it yourself with your partner, friends or family members.

 

Dates:

Saturday 31st August | from 8pm

Friday 6th September | from 8pm

Friday 27th September | from 7pm

Saturday 28th September | from 7pm

Wednesday 2nd October | from 7pm

Saturday 12th October | from 6pm | Moonlit Stargazing*

Friday 25th October | from 6pm and from 8:30pm

Saturday 26th October | from 6pm and from 8:30pm

Friday 1st November | from 6pm and from 8:30pm

Saturday 2nd November | from 6pm and from 8:30pm

Friday 22nd November | from 6pm

Saturday 23rd November | from 6pm

Friday 29th November | from 6pm

Saturday 30th November | from 6pm

Friday 6th December | from 6pm

Saturday 7th December | from 6pm and from 8:30pm

Friday 3rd January | from 6pm

Saturday 4th January | from 6pm

Friday 14th February | from 6pm | Moonlit Stargazing*

Saturday 15th February | from 6pm | Moonlit Stargazing*

Friday 21st February | from 6pm

Saturday 22nd February | from 6pm and from 8:30pm

Friday 28th February | from 6pm

Saturday 1st March | from 6pm and from 8:30pm

Friday 21st March | from 7pm

Saturday 22nd March | from 7pm

Friday 28th March | from 8pm

Saturday 29th March | from 8pm

*Moonlit Stargazing: On these certain evenings, the moon is more visible than other nights.  The Stargazing Supper will be the same event, however, the night sky is not quite as dark.

Photography – Gary Lintern

High Force Hotel Food
High Force Hotel Drinks
Garden Room High Force Hotel, Raby County Durham

What's on

Upcoming events & activities

Sign up to the Raby Newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive weekly updates, exclusive offers and priority booking on our seasonal events.